The things we do for our kids

So Cat is running a Film Festival at college on Friday, and couldn’t find the DVD of “My Neighbour Totoro” that she had planned to show. This is because I had lent it to me mam, and being a kind-hearted father I said I’d drive up and get it back. On the hottest day of the year. Still, Ben said he’d come with, so at least I had some stimulating conversation as we crossed the moor on Grane Road.

Me: Bit hot today Ben, shall we have the aircon on?
Ben: whine. wet nose poke.I tried to take a picture as we crossed Shard Bridge, but it went a bit doolally:Ben got bored and tried to stick his head in the breeze from the window:Nearer to Knott End, there’s the studio of an artist who works in glass, outside which is this wonderful glass sculpture. At night it glows with a myriad colours. But it wasn’t night, so not so much, but you get the idea:Look! A stinky bin lorry – just what you want to be stuck behind on a hot day:Ben was happy when we finally arrived, and immediately communicated to me mam that he would quite like a bit of cheese please.My good chum Janice had sent me, for mysterious reasons, some Florida beach sand recently, and Mam was amazed and delighted by this:Little things please all of us. “Here’s the DVD Mam, can I take it?”Took Poindexter for a bracing walk around Knott End –– and passed my favourite Knott End shop:The last two pics are of the tiled area near the village clock, where villagers sponsored a tile to pay for, erm, the clock, and me mam and dad’s tile.And finally, just because I picked it up from me Mam, here’s a photo of Wombat and sister of Wombat.

About wombat37

A Yorkshireman in the green hills of Lancashire, UK Not a real wombat, obviously, or typing would become an issue. I do have short legs and a hairy nose, however. Oh, & a distinctive smell.

Posted on July 2, 2009, in Ben, knott end, Mam, Witter. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

