Dearly Beloved–a celebration

So we know that recently there’s been a bit of a sea-change at #SUNDAYPICS when I eased my workload by devolving some weekends to a troupe of guest bloggers? To mark this milestone event, we revisited the first ever #SUNDAYPICS – Weddings. There was a shedload more entries this time round! So warm your hands, rest them on your organ, and get pumping… da da di-da-di-da-daaah.

00little_mavis-Me- I'm going to use photo of my Mum's wedding W- already on the computer somewhere Cue long hunt00wombat-mumsweddingYou’re going to have to wait till the end to see me and @little_mavis on our wedding day, cos I’m starting with our Mums and Dads. On the left, Mave’s parents tie the knot (I wonder how many wedding euphemisms I can use through this blog? That’s one). Gorgeous bouquet, eh? I always thought Mave’s Dad was a thoroughly handsome chap. On the right, my Dad looks inordinately pleased, probably cos he’s fondling Mum’s bum with his left hand. The dress is a bit overwhelming, makes her look a bit like a centaur. Must be why I’m hung like a horse.

01ericafairs-ON SAT Wedding Day 1976-check out dead fashionable suit!You can't see platform shoes!First off the mark this time was @ericafairs – posting a day early. There’s always one. This is her wedding day in 1976. “Check out the dead fashionable suit! You can’t see the platform shoes though”. Oh, I always thought flares made it look like you were on hidden roller skates. I had a pair of pink cords which my Mum made into flares by sewing a black triangle of material into each leg. Blimey, we were trendy in South Yorkshire.

 

01ericafairs-2nd pic this time of my parents in 1945. Dad posted to Palestine soon after aged only 21 on their wedding day. Underneath Erica’s wedding pic, I’ve posted her Mum and Dad getting hitched (two) in 1945. “Dad was posted to Palestine soon after” she says, “He was aged only 21 on their wedding day”. She goes on – “Today’s #sundaypics are stunning but remind me that this year is our 35th wedding anniversary. How did that happen? Getting maudlin and old”. Join the gang, sweetie.

 

 

39joehambleton-when I used to be younger and less beard faced. @MrsAshborosCat still looks as young now!02mrsashboroscat-The very first photo of Joe and I, taken in March 2008. I was 27 and Joe was 23 It was taken at the Cockpit in Leeds. Which is a rock club.Next up is not a wedding pic (on the left), but the very first photo taken of @mrsashboroscat and @joehambleton. It was taken in March 2008. “I was 27 and Joe was 23. It was taken at the Cockpit in Leeds. Which is a rock club” she chirrups, in case we thought they were both flying a plane at the time. And look, here’s an entry from @joehambleton himself – God they do look impossibly young. He says of his photo that he was younger and less beard faced than now. “@MrsAshborosCat still looks as young now!” he says, gallantly. That’ll win him a few brownie points.

03superblouse-A different wedding photo this time- one of my favouritesA gorgeous smile from @superblouse in one of her favourite photographs. You know, it’s rather difficult to give rein to my usual cynicism when you send in pictures that are this good. I can’t even snark about the fact that Rachel’s dad is holding a pretty bouquet because… well, you’ll see.

04nyncompoop-I'm repeating the photo as it's not only the best one but is also the only one at hand

 

Here’s a repeat photo from the very first #sundaypics because, as @nyncompoop explains “I’m repeating the photo as it’s not only the best one but is also the only one at hand”. Blimey, I’ve never seen @binarydad smile so much – he must have been anticipating a really good slice of cake.

05deadredbug-my parent's wedding

 

 

@deadredbug show us this lovely pic of “My parent’s wedding”. That’s an absolutely gorgeous hat there, as well as sideburns to die for. I had sideburns once, but the least said about that the better.

06starlitwolf-No two Happier people coming out of the Registry Office! Mr & I on our Wedding Day

 

 

A beaming @starlitwolf says there were “No two happier people coming out of the Registry Office!” I’ll bet there was no more handsome couple, either. Sparklies, look! Really nice necklace, and what my daughters used to call, when they were Very Little, a “tirara”.

 

 

07puddled_pudding-And another one outside the registery office just because ed_moose looks so gorgeous

07puddled_pudding-This was our whole wedding party (willow inc as my bump) in Castlefield Manchester Willow was a 6 month bump. It meant I couldn't drink. I was not happySee, here’s another wonderful photo that I’m not going to be able to make fun of. The sooner we get back to a theme such as “My Arse”, where I’ve got more scope to stretch my sarcasm, the better. Here’s @puddled_pudding and @ed_moose on the right – Hol says “Another one outside the registry office just because Ed looks so gorgeous”. Which one’s he then? (aah, that feels better!). And there’s the whole wedding party, on the left there – “It’s in Castlefield, Manchester. 27ed_moose-@Puddled_Pudding's already posted our wedding, thought I'd post flower girls from a friends weddingWillow was a 6 month bump. It meant I couldn’t drink. I was not happy”.

Ed himself posted the rather wonderful photo on my left there – “@Puddled_Pudding’s already posted our wedding, thought I’d post flower girls from a friends wedding”. Whoa, that’s a nice photo.

 

08toffeegirlUK-Glad wombat37 decided on Your Wedding again for #SundayPics. Mine was the happiest day of my life@toffeegirlUK shows us a photo full of grace and elegance. Lovely dress, lovely hair, lovely curvy staircase leading up to the haunted attic where Mad Auntie Gladys was locked away years ago for her own safety, and to stop her eating crows. I may have made that last bit up, sorry. 08toffeegirlUK-Just one more for @wombat37's #Sundaypics Wedding theme. Love this pic of my bro and his daughter (my bridesmaid“Glad Wombat decided on Your Wedding again for #SundayPics. Mine was the happiest day of my life” says she. Now *I* really like this happy, candid pic on the right, as indeed does Gill – “Love this pic of my bro and his daughter (my bridesmaid)”. Awwwww!

 

11scullyscully-I met @musicfreak67 aged 17 in '86. Married in '95. He's still as handsome today, if greyer

 

 

Check out this jaunty titfer! Lovely, it is. “I met @musicfreak67 aged 17 in ’86” @scullyscully tells us, “Married in ’95. He’s still as handsome today, if greyer”. We’re all greyer these days, Sunshine. Oh, also, your bouquet looks to have exploded with flowers.

09kanga_rue-SUNDAYPICS theme today from wombat37 is Your Wedding, so here's my favourite pic of BoyWonder_UK  me

 

 

Jumping over the broom here (three) are @kanga_rue and @BoyWonder_UK, sheltering from the typical English sun under both a tree and an umbrella. Didn’t your dress get all grassy and muddy and stuff? The light in the leaves there is lovely, by the way.

 

12aniesten-This is my sundaypics. Myself and OH on our very happy day I am pleased with my #sundaypics entry i took it with my blackberry from the album. i am getting better at this

 

More smiling faces, which keeps me smiling. “This is my Sundaypics” says @aniesten. “Myself and OH on our very happy day. I am pleased with my #sundaypics entry –  I took it with my blackberry from the album. I am getting better at this” You re-photoed your photo on your Blackberry? Ah, modern technology, eh?

13thiensmummy- walking out of a waterfall on our wedding day 1-9-2008

 

Crikey, here comes an inventive one now! I can just imagine your faces when the photographer said “Right love, I want you both to get under that waterfall and walk out of it, as if you’d been married under the sea or summat”. Actually, it makes for an interesting and romantic pic, which is what weddings are all about after all. Getting themselves soggy are the lovely @thiensmummy and, presumably, Thien’s Daddy, who were wed on what looks like a very pleasant day in September 2008. Glad neither of you got cold feet (see what I did there?)

14cormaggio-For #sundaypics I'll post the setting of my Canadian brother's wedding. Long story, with pics at httpSLSLcormaggio

 

I’ll let @cormaggio explain these chairs, for the originator was indeed he – “For #sundaypics I’ll post the setting of my Canadian brother’s wedding. The long background story, and more pics, can be seen if you CLICK HERE”. I strongly recommend that you do, Sundaypiccers, for it is a fascinating and moving tale indeed.

 

15lucyhunter-me with my dad at my brother's wedding. Clearly the photo was taken by dwarf.Here’s @lucyhunter, with a photo of she and her dad at her brother’s wedding. “Clearly the photo was taken by dwarf” she says, presumably cos her dad is missing the top of his head. Is that a Grecian Urn behind him? Cos I know a joke about that.

16ariadnes_web-Good grief! Is that us 1988. Our Wedding

 

 

The delightful @ariadnes_web blurts out “Good grief! Is that us in 1988?. Our Wedding…” and then she trails off. I get the impression she was going to tell us something about the wedding, but got distracted by a squirrel or something. We’ll never know.

17splashman-permit me to be course, this women deserves a fucking medal for putting up with shagnasty

 

 

Warning! Warning! Sweary man alert! There’s a sweary man alert going on! @splashman says, in regard to this charming photograph, “permit me to be coarse, this women deserves a fucking medal for putting up with shagnasty”. Ah, you old romantic. Though which of us can say we haven’t felt the same way?

18miffybarker-love on the stairs here's @jimbarker and I tying the knot in 2006. Almost 5 year ago, how time flies when you are having fun

 

 

“Love on the stairs” says @miffybarker (it hurts your back, love), “Here’s @jimbarker and I tying the knot in 2006. Almost 5 year ago, how time flies when you are having fun”. Hope you don’t mind me cropping you there, but you two were far more interesting than bendy stairs or what appeared to be a drainpipe on the right. You look gorgeous, by the way.

19thom_white-Here's me and @snowgirl1972 back in 2006

 

Time for one of my favourite dresses now – here’s @snowgirl1972 and @thorn_waite taking the plunge (four) back in 2006. I just love the colour of that dress – it really suits Helen’s colouring, ducky. Later on, Helen found an extremely evocative photograph of her Mum and Dad, which i love – creases and all. Here it is all big for your enjoyment…

19thom_white-Seems I didn't bring a wedding photo home with me, but I have this one, it's ace

20fbishwife-Wedding day

 

 

A very peremptory comment from @fbishwife to accompany her photograph – “Wedding day!” she snaps, almost like a dominatrix who might wear a micro skirt and stiletto heels while cracking a whip in your general direction. Except she’s wearing a pretty dress and a “tirara” (sic)

 

 

 

Tell you what, it seems a long time since I arranged one of those “three photos across the page” layouts, and I’ve sort of missed them, so have lot here on me.21sarahpez-2Our wedding day. Me and hubbie and me and @Superblouse21sarahpez-Our wedding day. Me and hubbie and me and @Superblouse21sarahpez-Here is one of Liv, flower girl at @Superblouse's wedding

Amzingly, they’re all from that @sarahpez. There’s one of her wedding day where she looks ever so cute, there’s one of little Liv, a flower girl at @Superblouse’s wedding (damn, I should have cross-referenced with the one of Rachel in her car. Ah well, too late now), and a third of @sarahpez and her mum’s standard lamp. Oh, wait – that’s the irrepressible @superblouse again, being devoured top down by a carnivorous hat.

23mrs_mummy_k-@Mrs_Mummy_K sundaypaper wedding pic (not a very good one!)

 

Confetti galore in this glorious photograph of @Mrs_Mummy_K getting spliced (five) “Not a very good one!” she says, but I entirely disagree. I reckon the atmosphere and mood have been captured perfectly.

 

 

22hebbie-@gourockguru mum and dad Elsie and Reg Ward22hebbie-my mum and dad@hebbie posted this delightful photograph of @gourockguru ‘s mum and dad, Elsie and Reg Ward (nice hat) followed by the one on the right of her own parents, who look like they’re off to see Cliff Richard in The Young Ones after the ceremony. I love those dresses.

24littlebit_bod- later dancing w. Jay's little cousins

24littlebit_bod- H&S absent at cake cutting

 

Watch what you’re doing with that knife, woman! Was a proper risk assessment done here? I think not. Health & Safety are conspicuous by their absence at @littlebit_bod’s cake cutting. And there she is later, looking quite glorious while dancing with Jay’s littlebit cousins.

 

25robmorrey-Thought I'd share one of my favourite pictures from my own wedding to @och23

 

“Thought I’d share one of my favourite pictures from my own wedding to @och23” says @robmorrey, and it’s an exciting moment at that, all “Wahey!”. I wonder who had to sweep all the spaghetti up. No wait, not spaghetti… what the hell’s the word? Don’t tell me, it’ll come to me. And speaking of @och23, 46och23- Here's another from our wedding, 31st October '03,5 yrs after we met which was on Halloween too.here she comes now with her own submission to the Church of Sundaypics. “Here’s another from our wedding, 31st October 2003, five years after we met, which was on Halloween too” Now why did you have to say that? There are so many possibilities to be sarky and rude that it’s almost impossible for a wombat to resist. But I shall, since we’re talking about the sanctity of marriage here. Mind you, I’m not sure what ‘sanctity’ is, and can’t be bothered Googling. I believe it might be French for “five boobies”. Confetti, that’s it.

 

26__AaronKelly-My rather laughable entry to #sundaypics Remember, my skills are in Theatre, not Art26__AaronKelly-On a side note, here's the fairy I'm going to marry. I believe the phrase is 'batting above my average'@__AaronKelly sends us an awesome work of art, but modestly proclaims “My rather laughable entry to #sundaypics. Remember, my skills are in Theatre, not Art. On a side note (the right side of the page, in fact), here’s the fairy I’m going to marry. I believe the phrase is ‘batting above my average’” Now if I agree, I’m calling you ugly, and if I disagree, she looks like she could wipe the floor with me. So I’ll just say, erm…. congratulations!

28ivorjetski-it once made sense to some people

 

Apparently, according to @ivorjetski, the picture on the left “once made sense to some people”. I’m afraid it’s beyond a poor wombat’s brain to interpret the symbolism and in-jokes here, but it DID make me laugh, so it’s in. How easily I am pleased…

29davidgilray- Lola made me the happiest man on the 28th October 2003, we married at The Rock Hotel.

 

 

Here’s another cracking little pic from @davidgilray to your right, punters – “Lola made me the happiest man on the 28th October 2003, we married at The Rock Hotel”. Awww. I have to say, Lola looks a complete babe, but you look a bit rough, mate. Bad stag night?

30kirtle-My Wedding'. So 7 years ago this month.30kirtle-My Wedding'. and #1 as flower girl@kirtle – “My Wedding. So 7 years ago this month” And I’ll bet it don’t seem a day too much. She also sent this lovely shot of “#1 as flower girl”, probably saying “I can see right up your nose”.

 

I’m going to afford @captain_doodle the luxury of three pics of his espousal (does that count? Shall we call that six?) to the babelicious @shelley…. shazbat, I can never remember her number. Anyway, three pics because (1) THEY’RE WONDERFUL PICS AND (2) I ACCIDENTALLY HIT CAPS LOCK and (3) he’s a blogger on here. Perks of the job.

31captain_doodle-and 2) Realising there was no way through to the top table and having to squeeze past!31captain_doodle-Oh, g'wan then. One more, cos @shelley279 just looks amazing in this one31captain_doodle-Two of my fave shots from our wedding for #sundaypics. 1) CeremonyThey are “Realising there was no way through to the top table and having to squeeze past! Then the ceremony itself, and oh, g’wan then. One more, cos @shelley279 just looks amazing in this one”. 279, that’s the number!

32janegoth-1 of my favourite pics from our wedding. @intruth's dad had a few embarrassing stories to tellI love this photo! @janegoth says “One of my favourite pics from our wedding. @intruth’s dad had a few embarrassing stories to tell” and then she stops! We want the embarrassing stories, Jane! How could you let us down so?

33rhsfb12- wedding

 

 

I do like this from @rhsfb12 – lovely dress, lovely bouquet, lovely suit. Good job they weren’t married outside in winter though, because… ah well, you know where I’m going with that one, finish it off yourselves.

34jaxbourne-Where there is a will there is a way! My wedding day ( looks real to me)

 

Another funny ‘un, from @jaxbourne, who says “Where there is a will there is a way! My wedding day ( looks real to me)”. I shall now show my age by admitting I don’t know who that chappie is, but he seems to have forgotten his vest. He’ll catch his death.

 

35hastillonlyme-Oh well, if there's an 'it's all gone wrong' corner, here's mine 35hastillonlyme-My Mum and Dads post war wedding #SUNDAYPICS. (this time with pic attachedUh-oh – wasn’t sure at first whether to run with this one of @hastillonlyme and Giant Haystacks (right). She says “Oh well, if there’s an ‘it’s all gone wrong’ corner, here’s mine”. But then I realised she was so gorgeous I had to. Also, she posted the rather splendid pic on the left of “My Mum and Dad’s post war wedding”. And that photo is absolutely wonderful. Really. truly. Why has your Mum got her hand up a dog?

 

36FannyIngabout-Me and my best mate on my wedding day. 24th June 1995 Awwwwww!

Here’s a lovely one – “Me and my best mate on my wedding day. 24th June 1995 Awwwwww!” says @fannyingabout. Now, I can’t be sarky about two such gorgeous smiles, now can I? Lesbian fantasies yes, sarcasm no. #badwombat #backinyourbox

37mallrat_uk-this one pretty much sums up the happiness on our day!

 

 

Look! Laughing! Lots of laughing! This is @mallrat_uk, who says “This one pretty much sums up the happiness on our day!”

38mum2rocky_mally-Wedding Part 1 - Scotland38mummy2rocky_mally-Wedding Part 2 - Pakistan - 16 yrs ago on Twitpic

 

We’ve got a couple of belters now from @mum2rocky_mally – Wedding Part 1 in Scotland, Wedding Part 2 in Pakistan – 16 years ago. I wonder if I cross my eyes so the pictures go together…. YES! IT WORKS! 3D!!

 

 

OK, how many of you crossed your eyes to see the 3D? You’re as daft as me, honestly. Time for a threesome next, I think (blimey, it’s a few years since I suggested that). The following photos are from @kaPOWed, and I couldn’t choose between them, wonderful as they are. I did leave one out, though, mainly because my laptop screen isn’t two feet wide.40kaPOWed-jumping on the #sundaypics bandwagon, my fave pic from our wedding!40kaPOWed-ok seriously, this one!40kaPOWed-No wait!One of these two!#sundaypics - I'm never gonna be allowed back again am I!

Olivia did try to help, bless her, in her own decisive way – “This is my fave pic from our wedding!No wait! This one… or one of these two. Erm, I’m never gonna be allowed back again am I? OK, seriously, use THIS one!” You’re just the sort of nutter I love, Sunshine.

41avensarah-2Having already posted one for the original blog, here are 2 more41avensarah-Having already posted one for the original blog, here are 2 moreA couple more great photos now (where oh where are the dodgy ones that I can make fun of?). Here are two of my favourite Canadians, @avensarah and @alliterative, plighting their troths (seven). I’m not sure I’ve ever had a troth to plight, but then I’m only a wombat.

 

 

42macjude-Arriving with my dad Unlike most brides I lost 2 stone after my wedding rather than before42macjude-and laughing with my new husbandMore troth-plighting now from @macjude, in the first pic arriving with her dad (who looks a bit like a cool Matrix guy in those glasses), and then laughing with her new husband (who doesn’t). She is very keen to inform us that “unlike most brides I lost 2 stone after my wedding rather than before”. Actually, well done. Losing weight is not easy. I’m a wombat who knows.

43davidgilray-The lovely @LolaGilray with flowers... and me.

 

I really like the simple happiness of this next pic, over on your right there. Tis captioned “The lovely @LolaGilray with flowers… and me”, and of course it comes from @davidgilray. That dress is gorgeous, by the way.

44crofty-Finally got around to taking a picture of a wedding pic. Mrs C. Looks great - pity about the beardy-weirdy stood next to her!

Oh my giddy aunt – Look on the left! It’s @crofty with hair! Strangely Playmobil type hair, too: maybe it really was a plastic hair-shaped helmet. Anyroad, our favourite Northerner called Crofty says “Finally got around to taking a picture of a wedding pic. Mrs C. Looks great – pity about the beardy-weirdy stood next to her!” She really does look great, Crofty – and so do you. Very smart. Nice hat. Nice cravat. Nice hair. He also went on to say “While reminiscing with aged aunt we came across this great wedding shot – she didn’t know whose wedding, but they look great.” I adore old photos – more, more!44crofty-While reminiscing with aged aunt we came across this great wedding shot - she didn't know whose wedding, but they look great.

45sarahtregear-Found one... where did it go wrong, ah it was him having an affair when I was pregnant #sundaypics #vomits

 

Here’s another one for ‘it’s all gone wrong’ corner,this time from @sarahtregear. I’ll let her fill you in – “Found one… where did it go wrong? Ah yes, it was him having an affair when I was pregnant #vomits”. Maybe this should be called “What a wanker” corner.

 

 

 

 

47lilianlouvaine-Here's a couple of my 1998 wedding - one on my own & one with Mr Lil, who looks about 1247lilianlouvaine-2Here's a couple of my 1998 wedding - one on my own & one with Mr Lil, who looks about 12

 

Here’s @lilianlouvaine, who seems to be a bit of a swinger, as I always suspected. She says “Here’s a couple of my 1998 wedding – one on my own & one with Mr Lil, who looks about twelve”. That’s a heck of a nice room there – yours?

 

 

48louwiseman-My parents' wedding. I love this pic - they look so happy!I find that I’m really enjoying the photos that you posted of older generations. Here’s another fine example from @louwiseman. She tells us this is “My parents’ wedding. I love this pic – they look so happy!”. I right enjoy the sense of time – look at the shape of the car window, for example. Brilliant.

49katediamond-this is my favourite of all our wedding photos. Sums up the day nicely.

 

Booze! Weddingy-type booze too, the best kind. And look, even some Dad-Dancing in the background – wonderful. This is from @katediamond, and is “My favourite of all our wedding photos. Sums up the day nicely.”

50soosiewoosie78-and the first time he'd worn one since he was 450soosiewoosie78-A cute one, hubby & his daughter Now, @susiewoosie78 posted four gorgeous photos, which I’ve cut back to two by leaving out the one of her sticking her tongue out at us. Cos it’s RUDE. Naughty girl; stand in the corner. Also the one of her hubby looking cooler than cool, cos I’m the cool one round here matey. Here are the two photos left – the rather rural one of the happy couple, and “A cute one, hubby & his daughter”. Apparently, it was the first time Hubby had worn a kilt since he was 4. How often did he accidentally display his meat and two veg?

51catinabaglady-My sister & I on my wedding day. Looks like we're marrying each other

 

Bloody enormous bouquets alert! Blimey they’re flowery! This is @catinabaglady, who murmurs sensuously “My sister & I on my wedding day. Looks like we’re marrying each other”. That would be WEIRD. Please don’t put thoughts like that into my head, lest I go off on a lunatic flight of fancy….. managed to rein myself in. Phew. Now, what’s next?

 

Oh yes – this magnificent creation from @island252 deserves full-width. The collage “includes my paternal and maternal grandparents, parents, late husband and me, & sister and wife”52island252-collage includes my paternal & maternal grandparents, parents, late husband & me, & sister & wife

Look at the gorgeous headdress your dad’s mum had on! This is a belting idea; thanks for doing this.

53richlieu_uk-Viva Las Vegas! The King says it's Wedding DayViva Las Vegas! Here’s @richlieu_uk buying the cow (eight) with one of the most beautiful women in the world. Seriously, gorgeous. Erm, sorry Rich – inappropriate Wombat there. I’d get me coat, but I’ve got this blog to finish. Anyroad, Rich says “The King says it’s Wedding Day!” OK, but why is Shakin’ Stevens there?

54mrsactive-back in 2002 @sportology & I enjoyed the peace & quiet & a little moment to ourselves ( photographer)

 

 

 

@mrsactive tells us that “back in 2002 @sportology & I enjoyed the peace & quiet & a little moment to ourselves” Except for the photographer, of course. Nice dress – reminiscent of that Middleton woman’s frock.

56hc_illustrator-Our wedding five years and a bit ago

 

What a great photo this is from @hc_illustrator – “Our wedding five years and a bit ago”, apparently. There’s a theme to this pic – nice pair of shades, nice pair of wine glasses, nice pair of…. erm, nice cleavage.

 

57ellililalou-@hastillonlyme sent me...our wedding day Skating on the lake

 

Now this looks very Russian, what with the skating and the coolest hats ever seen. This is @ellililalou, skating on the lake on her wedding day.

 

 

58plinkyplonk-Well, here is my 1st #sundaypics just over 6 yrs ago. We look so young58plinkyplonk-But this proves Benny Hill was our driver! Here’s a first #SUNDAYPICS entry from @plinkyplonk, from “just over 6 yrs ago. We look so young!” Indeed. I’m not sure of the wisdom of employing B|enny Hill as your driver, mind.

 

 

 

59BvO79-Excellent #Sundaypics @wombat37 Happiest day of my life & would do it all again if I could (obviously with TWHere, look! It’s that @BvO79, who opines that this is an “excellent #Sundaypics”, and that this was “the Happiest day of my life & would do it all again if I could (obviously with TW)”. Ah bless, happy smiles all round. Mind you, look at all the empty wine glasses and draw your own conclusions.

60hunyock-Wedding day reception

 

Here’s an interesting photo of @hunyock and OH planting the potatoes (nine). Oh alright, I made that one up. I’ve run out of marriage euphemisms. Just be thankful I didn’t make up a more suggestive one. I did briefly toy with “hunting the sausage”.

 

61widget53-Our beautiful girl made up one fifth of the guests at our very relaxed and tiny wedding, three years ago on 20.3.08

 

Maybe I should have made a subsection of this post for kids pics, cos they’re always brill. Our lovely @widget53 says “Our beautiful girl made up one fifth of the guests at our very relaxed and tiny wedding, three years ago on 20.3.08”. I read this wrongly at first, thinking that a fifth of your guests were fictional, created by your daughter, and perhaps represented by cardboard cutouts. I may have had too much coffee.

 

62moynsquidgeim-Planning started for my wedding day next year, I found this one of my parents in 1978

 

Beardy bloke alert! This from @moynsquidgeim – “Planning has started for my wedding day next year, I found this one of my parents in 1978” Ah yes, I thought that looked like a Seventies hat.

63babymakingfiles-my mum & dad (lge pic) & my grandparents (my dads m&d) wedding day in sm pic

 

 

Some more lovely old photos now from @babymakingfiles of her mum and dad getting wed on a windy day, and her paternal grandparents’ wedding in the small photo. I love your gran’s outfit, and grandad looks well dashing in his uniform.

64talojo-whistling while placing #sundaypics entry on the pile discretely so no-one notices it's late

 

 

Who’s this trying to sneak in while I’m polidhing me trophies. Why, tis @talojo, whistling while placing her #sundaypics entry “on the pile discretely so no-one notices it’s late”. Also so no-one comments on your fantasy of marrying a robot shooty-dog-thing. And they say I’m odd.

 

65jamerz3294-2Here's us exchanging vows and slurping beer afterward65jamerz3294-Here's us exchanging vows and slurping beer afterwardHere’s a couple from occasional blogmeister @jamerz3294 of that magical day when he and his Barb decided to hunt the sausage (ten – yes, yes, OK, couldn’t resist). “Here’s us exchanging vows and slurping beer afterward”. Write the vows yourselves did you? How American. Oh wait, they are, so that’s OK (retracts sarcastic tone).

 

66ericafairs-The old lady seated right is my great-great grandmother at family wedding circa 1908 all dresses handmade by my great grandmother. Another real classic on the left now as @ericafairs makes a quick revisit – “The old lady seated right is my great-great grandmother at a family wedding circa 1908. All dresses were handmade by my great grandmother”. Just wow, really. God the hats are AWE (wait for it) SOME!

67underbundle

 

 

And here we have my old Twittermate @underbundle, looking like a John Buchan hero about two months after the end of the book. Lovely pic, aksh.

 

You can find @vegmers entry at http://amachinations.mooo.com/ – “I’m a day late, but here’s my #sundaypics entry for this week (Life got in the way this yesterday.)”. Worth clicking on that, chums.

We also heard from the bonny @heidivodka, and please don’t read this out loud to your kids, who said “Seeing as though I’m not married nor engaged here are some men I’d happily fuck”. Since the photographs were obviously under copyright somewhere, I’m going to have to describe them to you instead. Erm right, the first is me obviously… wait, come back! Only joking! The first pic shows a very serious-looking Jamie Bamber. You know, that dude out of BSG who got to snog all the women. Yes him. The second of @heidivodka’s fantasy men is…. who the hell is that? He’s wearing a nice coat, anyway. You know, thingy out of the Bourne films. Him. Anyway, since I’m boss round here, I’ve decided that @heidivodka can have them both at once. Some sort of oil could be involved.

Right loveys, that’s it (thank buggery) – this one has been the most painful one I’ve yet had to complete, thanks to not wanting to be too snarky about your pics. Oh, and about seventeen screensworth of scrolling above, I said “You’re going to have to wait till the end to see me and @little_mavis on our wedding day”. Here you go: this is us. God, she’s a gorgeous woman!00little_mavis-bouquet00wombat-garter

About wombat37

A Yorkshireman in the green hills of Lancashire, UK Not a real wombat, obviously, or typing would become an issue. I do have short legs and a hairy nose, however. Oh, & a distinctive smell.

Posted on March 6, 2011, in Weddings. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Absolutely wonderful Michael! I cannot imagine how many hours this must have taken. It is a fantastic read with some brilliant pictures. Thank you so much xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

