Musings on the sociability of Twitter

Dscf5229

Lots of things are great about Twitter – it’s a magnificent source of knowledge, it’s the best and fastest place to get news (apparently, news of the recent earthquake travelled faster than the earthquake itself), and it’s a fine repository of amusing animal photographs.

sThe most rewarding aspect for me, though, is the way it has introduced me to a growing number of magical, fascinating, intelligent, caring people who just happen to also be amongst the funniest on the planet. For example, I recently mentioned idly that it was my birthday next week. Three days later (three days!) a package arrived at Wombat Towers. It was from @hugeshark, a Twitter best friend in San Diego. It contained – well, take a look at the first couple of pics here.

Dscf5232A cuddly wombat! A selection of exotic chocolates! A picture of a semi-naked woman! That’s like my three favourite things. I love @hugeshark and want to have her babies. Did I tell you she’s a good singster? Check out her blog page.

DSCF5233Anyway, let’s cut to the chase – I need to name this cuddly wombat. I had a SHEDLOAD of suggestions on Twitter – Akabar, Frank, Derek (after the laptop?), Bomble (which I *quite* like), Tabmow, Bruce Diego (from @anniesten), Dingbat or Splat, Uncle Bulgaria or Fish. Or Darren. Darren, FFS. Up there on the right somewhere you’ll find a poll. Vote for your favourite name.

Oh, and to @hugeshark – thank you, my splendid friend.

About wombat37

A Yorkshireman in the green hills of Lancashire, UK Not a real wombat, obviously, or typing would become an issue. I do have short legs and a hairy nose, however. Oh, & a distinctive smell.

Posted on October 20, 2011, in Birthday, Twitter. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Awww! You are MOST welcome. As various folks on Twitter could tell you, I just love shipping parcels overseas, and will come up with almost any excuse to do it. A birthday is a splendid one!

    I love the photo of the cat with the wombat. Clearly a cat of good taste.

    And THANKS for plugging my music. Clearly you deserved all that chocolate and then some.

    Like

Leave a Reply

