Me and My Teddy Bear

Inspired by the song, of course, the ‘official’ (and therefore deserving of a proper blog) #SUNDAYPICS for April was meant (in my head) to be of you and a cuddly toy. Got lots of pics just of cuddly toys, but given that I’m hardly a stickler for rules, I enjoyed those pics too. Let’s go, furries, in alphabeticalish order for no apparent reason.

@_aaronkelly - 3 hobbits with teds

 

First up alphabetically due to his underpants underscore is man about town @_aaronkelly, who gives us “three hobbits with teds”. I love photos of little girls, don’t you? Oh Gawd, I mean that in a charming-happysmiley-not-at-all-pervy way, obviously. Save me, Alex!

@alexbrightsmith - Demonstrating why Panda now has one ear bigger than the other

 

 

Here she is, in the nick of time – tis @alexbrightsmith, clutching her panda, and demonstrating why he has one ear bigger than the other. Is it me, or is she also sucking her thumb, the sexpot?

 

@alliterative - I've had this bear for nearly 40 years. Somewhere there's a pic of 2-year-old me with him@alliterative - It took a bit of doing, but here's me with my bear a very long time ago

 

 

Over on the left is @alliterative’s 40-year-old bear, which he bravely proves by also showing us a mini-him clutching said ursine. God, were we ever that young?

 

 

@andromedababe - Still in bed cuddles

 

Ms. Sexy Eyes herself, @andromedababe, shows us her favourite bedcuddles companion. Look at his satisfied expression.

 

@ariadnes_web - Me & my Bear. This was given to me on Valentine's Day once. I'm not normally a stuffed-toy type

 

 

And here’s another sexbomb. And it’s that @ariadnes_web holding him. She’s not normally a “stuffed toy type”; this is a bear given to her on Valentine’s Day once. What’s the betting he’s called “Valentine”? Or possibly “Day”.

 

 

 

@avensarah - Ex-boyfriend gave me him for V's Day when I was 18. No strong feelings for him, but I love Bear@avensarah - The kneading pulled out hanks of fur. But as you can see, Tigger loved Bear.“His kneading pulled out hanks of fur, but as you can see, Tigger loved Bear” reports @avensarah. She continues, quite jauntily, “Ex-boyfriend gave me him for V’s Day when I was 18. No strong feelings for him, but I love Bear” Well, look at his little face!

 

 

Here’s a tryptich from @bathcat. On the left, Teddy stuck in the tree due to “Little buggers”. In the middle, he undergoes the torture of being washed after an adventure in the River Exe. And over on the right, Teddy and His Boy.

@bathcat - Just remembered this pic. Teddy stuck in the tree ! Little buggers@bathcat - Teddy and The Boy

@bathcat - Teddy after he got dropped in the River Exe

 

@beanobundle - Me & my bear Aged 4, in S France. We arrived there v early & had to wait for host to collect us

 

The four-year-old @beanobundle hugs her bear tightly, not so very long ago (he says, in a gentlemanly fashion). This was in Southern France. “We arrived there v early & had to wait for host to collect us”. Thank God you had Bear to protect you from all those Gallic dangers.

@captain_doodle - Steeeeeempy, you eeeejit

 

 

 

Here’s @captain_doodle – “Steeeeeempy, you eeeejit” he says. This means nothing to me, cos I’m not ‘street’, but he appears to be brandishing some sort of mutated smurf. An X-Smurf, if you will, who can go through a smoky hole at the drop of a hat.

 

 

@butmadnnw - b The bed crew Arthur (big gold snuggler), Quark (black & travel-compact), & some odd pillow pals. @butmadnnw - a My #sundaypics is being posted on Tues because...how could I decide! The shelf crew In that shelf crew #sundaypics, keep in mind there are others than what you can see. Space restrictionSo it would seem that @butmadnnw has been invaded by cuddlies from outer space. On the left “The bed crew – Arthur (big gold snuggler), Quark (black & travel-compact), & some odd pillow pals”. On the right, “The shelf crew – keep in mind there are others than what you can see. Space restriction” OUTER space restriction, you mean.

@butmadnnw - c @marcomunkeh And then there's my crew, dudes! We hang out by the pillow Me, Doctor, Stitch, & Perry

 

And here’s @marcomunkeh with HIS crew (dudes!). “We hang out by the pillow Me, Doctor, Stitch, & Perry”. I see you wear a fez now. Fezzes are cool.

 

@chickenprincess - Breaking out an old pic for #SUNDAYPICS Tally and Fred the Ted, on an adventure

 

 

@chickenprincess – “Breaking out an old pic for #SUNDAYPICS Tally and Fred the Ted, on an adventure”. Finally, someone names their bear!

 

@dawbes - Charlie was attacked by a childhood dog. I don't love him any less tho.

 

Here’s another! “Charlie was attacked by a childhood dog. I don’t love him any less” says @dawbes. He’s a proper beauty, if a rather unpleasant colour.

 

@em_and_lola - Me & my teddy, many years ago

 

 

“Me & my teddy, many years ago” chirrups @em_and_lola. My word, he’s a big ‘un, you wouldn’t want to get on the wrong side of him. I’ll just bet he was called Tiny.

 

OK, next up is another tryptich, this time of quite a famous bear. This classy feller belongs to @ericafairs, and has been papped for magazines! May I present, on your left, Erica and her teddy bear, having no worries, having no cares. Bear poses alone (and naked) in the centrefold, and features prominently in The Antiques Roadshow Magazine. Posh bear.

@ericafairs - a sings Me and my teddy bear, we've got no worries, got no cares@ericafairs - c And here's his pic in The Antiques Roadshow Magazine. Feel free not to use this or last one

@ericafairs - b Pic 2 - My little bear posing. He's a bit famous. Been photographed for Antique Roadshow

 

@girlthing63 - Mouse and Panda not looking bad for 45yos

 

Here’s @girlthing63, present and past, with Mouse and Panda – not looking bad for 45 year olds. Indeed, two lovely cuddlies on view there. I do like a nice cleavage pic.

@hebbie - Stewie & @GourockGuru cuddly toys known as the brechin boys they have sleepovers in each bedroom yes really

 

 

Give a warm welcome to The Brechin Boys! @hebbie tells us that these are “Stewie & @GourockGuru’s cuddly toys, known as The Brechin Boys. They have sleepovers in each bedroom. Yes really” I’m saying nothing.

@harrietkap - my bear is a bit of a star, he has his own fb page he can fly too, and has his own masseuse

 

Fancy a foursome then? No? In that case, how about four photos instead of the perverted sex? Yes? OK then (spoilsports). Here’s @harrietkap – “My bear is a bit of a star, he has his own fb page, he can fly too, and has his own masseuse. He went bungee jumping too – check out those women’s faces”. Hmmmm…. I think my face would have been a bit wibbly too.

 

 

@harrietkap - check out those women's faces@harrietkap wheeeeeeeeeeee! @harrietkap - ready to bungee - actual jump to follow

 

@janetstratch - Here you go me and my favourite Womble

 

Remember member member what a womble womble womble you are…. here’s @janetstratch with her favourite womble. She types well for someone so young, I have to say.

 

 

@JimTheSG -  @Dr_Steph_ and her fluffies Pink Ted I've had since birth according to family lore. Moo Cow Jim bought me when I was sad.

 

Sir @JimTheSG posted this pic of @Dr_Steph_ and her fluffies (not a euphemism). “Pink Ted I’ve had since birth according to family lore. Moo Cow, Jim bought me when I was sad”. Aww, nice Jim.

 

@jingomimi - He is over 40 years old & I ate all his fur when I was little, he has a big hole above his eye.

 

 

 

This little feller’s so lovable, despite being threatened by that nasty Lotso. He belongs to @jingomimi, is over 40 years old & she ate all his fur when she was little. He has a big hole above his eye. He looks like I feel some mornings.

 

@justjimwilldo - Well if we can exclude people, here's one that's had a lot of views

 

Not sure what the wiggins this is meant to be, but twas posted by @justjimwilldo. It looks way too modern for an old fart like me to understand.

 

@kaPOWed - my teddy & me... Amsie & Big Ted!

 

Now here’s a pic that made me sdquee like a little girl. So no change there. This is shows Amsie & Big Ted. Unfortunately, @kaPOWed doesn’t tell us which is which, so I shall assume they are named in order. Amsie is a lovely name for a giant teddy bear, well done. And you must be so proud of…. erm, Big Ted (not a good name for a little girl – you were a bit cruel there).

 

 

Now here’s a well-loved bear indeed, and @mana4tee tells us all about him. “Aww my Mum used to sing that song to me – and I take my Ted everywhere with me… to Children In Need gigs … to Antarctica … and everywhere in between. As for another sort of teddy..That can wait for the other comp”. Oh my – now I can hardly wait for the day that I’m brave enough to announce the #nuddyteddy theme….

@mana4tee - even to #Antarctica! @mana4tee - to #ChildrenInNeed gigs

@mana4tee - X And everywhere in between #sundaypics -as for another sort of teddy..That can wait for the other comp

 

@mckjerral - As of tues I will have had this bear exactly 27 years, got it in the hospital

 

“As of Tuesday I will have had this bear exactly 27 years” says @mckjerral, “I got it in the hospital”. As long as you didn’t steal it from someone else, then that’s a lovely story! I like his little face. The bear’s, I mean.

 

@misskayleigh - I've had this one 25 years! I was just a lil bit bigger than him when I was born haha

 

 

 

Here’s another handsome and long-serving bear, from @misskayleigh – “I’ve had this one 25 years! I was just a lil bit bigger than him when I was born”. Bet you didn’t have two black eyes, though.

@mooley - me and batman bear

 

 

It took me ages to see the bear in this photo cos, well, boobies! Nice ones tooo…. ahem, sorry. This is @mooley and “batman bear”. Oh now see, I thought he was “bondage bear” till you said that.

@och23 - my two Teddies, imaginatively named brown ted and orange ted, cuddled up with my girls ted.

 

 

 

“My two Teddies, imaginatively named brown ted and orange ted, cuddled up with my girls ted” reports @och23. They look like they’re ready to go down to the woods today.

@richlieu_uk - This is Teddy and me. We first met the day I was born

 

 

Wordsmith and man-about-town @richlieu_uk now – “This is Teddy and me. We first met the day I was born”. He either has two noses or a little Hitler moustache. I kind of hope it’s the latter.

 

 

 

@sarahpez -  and here he is being truly loved-@sarahpez - the best loved rabbit bear in the worldRabbit-torturer @sarahpez here dangles “the best loved rabbit bear in the world … and here he is being loved”. Bless him.

 

Here’s our final tryptich this time, from @scullyscully – “Me & my teddy bear (rabbit) for #sundaypics. He’s not clear in the 1st. I’m grumpy in the 2nd. And here’s a more recent pic – he doesn’t look bad for 43  (& yes, he’s a cross-dressing rabbit)”

@scullyscully - a Me & my teddy bear (rabbit) for #sundaypics. He's not clear in the 1st. I'm grumpy in the 2nd@scullyscully - c Here's a more recent pic for #sundaypics - he doesn't look bad for 43  (& yes, he's a cross-dressing rabbit) @scullyscully - b Me & my teddy bear (rabbit) for #sundaypics. He's not clear in the 1st. I'm grumpy in the 2nd

 

@sebastianflyte - might as well include this chap Furryboo who I found in my bed last night

 

Squashed teddy! Although he looks quite pleased about it. Our reporter @sebastianflyte says “might as well include this chap Furryboo who I found in my bed last night”. Furryboo! Best name yet.

 

@snowgirl1972 - here's mine & Thom's childhood teddies together on Boy's shelf

 

 

This one makes me sniffle with awwww, cos listen to @snowgirl1972 – “Here’s mine & Thom’s childhood teddies together on Boy’s shelf”. See? Awwwwwww, you two!

 

@sundayhandbag -  I don't collect bears, honest... two Kringle bears bought in the USA & a Mother's Day bear

 

 

“I don’t collect bears, honest” says @sundayhandbag, “Here’s two Kringle bears bought in the USA & a Mother’s Day bear”. A Christmas bear!

 

@teddy_red - Teddy accompanied by Teddy H - who I MADE at school. In Class H. An imaginative child.

 

 

There’s three teds here, cos this pic is from @teddy_red – “Teddy accompanied by Teddy H – who I MADE at school. In Class H. An imaginative child”. You made him? Blimey, that’s clever.

 

@tweetiepeetie - meet Rupert, he's 34 I've had him since I was born

 

 

Oh now, here’s a brave little bear with a good heart. He’s from @tweetiepeetie, who says “Meet Rupert, he’s 34 & I’ve had him since I was born”. I never realised so many of you would have hung on to your childhood chums. It’s quite moving, actually.

 

@vanishedhippo - Ooo, I might be the first in with a #sundaypics for #me&myteddy. It's actually eldest and her teddy

 

 

Actually the first #SUNDAYPICS submission for “Teddy Day”, here’s a beautiful pic from @vanishedhippo – “It’s actually eldest and her teddy”. He’s a bit of a boozer I see.

 

@wavesfromfrance - Ted, french artist Ted in his cravat, beret and paint stained tunic with caveman

 

Here’s a cool ted from @wavesfromfrance – “French artist Ted in his cravat, beret and paint stained tunic … with a caveman” Yes, er yes, all bohemian artists have a cavemen with them at all times….

 

 

 

@wombat37 - @37Ellie changing his nappy 20 years ago @wombat37 - Me and ShanklyMoving right along, here’s a couple of my own bear Shankly, bought for me decades ago by @little_mavis. On the right, @37ellie changes his nappy some twenty years ago.

About wombat37

A Yorkshireman in the green hills of Lancashire, UK Not a real wombat, obviously, or typing would become an issue. I do have short legs and a hairy nose, however. Oh, & a distinctive smell.

Posted on April 24, 2012, in Teddy Bears, Toys. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

