Shakespeare at School

Following a chat on Twitter with the estimable man behind “Uncle Pandarus” I’m interested in your thoughts about this. See that poll over on the right there? Do me a favour and tell me of your experience of being taught the works of Mr. William Shakespeare at school. You may feel completely differently now, but back then did you love it, hate it, or just couldn’t give a tupenny toss? Feel free to leave a comment on this post to expand further, and to tell me which play you studied. For what it’s worth, we ‘did’ Julius Caesar’ and I bloody hated it.

Image1Something you SHOULD give a tupenny toss about is a new presentation of Troilus & Cressida by Uncle Pandarus. It’s rather wonderful – take a look.

About wombat37

A Yorkshireman in the green hills of Lancashire, UK Not a real wombat, obviously, or typing would become an issue. I do have short legs and a hairy nose, however. Oh, & a distinctive smell.

Posted on July 9, 2012, in Shakespeare. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Tony & Cleo and As You Like It at A-level. Terrific. Good teachers, which helps. Prior to that, Tempest, MacB, Henry IV Pt I, Measure4Measure and can't remember which other ones. Measure was a bit meh, but I did like the others. Again, good teaching helped.

    Like

  2. I can't see the poll from the mobile site, so this'll have to be my vote: I enjoyed allthe Shakespearewedid at school; started with Julius Caesar I gr 9, then various–I think MacBeth & Hsnlet, & Romeo & Juliet, not sure what else. The teaching was ok, but quite conventional, especially in gr 9, but I loved the language from the beginning. We had to memorize and recite soliloquies, and I loved that, just for the flow & power & rhythm of the words. (and yet I never had the slightest interest in doing drama as an actor). That may be partly thanks to a lot of emphasis on poetry and language earlier–both at home (my mom's a poet, I spent a lot of my childhood at poetry readings) and in school, especially with a fantastic teacher in gr 5 who encouraged us to memorize & recite reams of poetry.

    Like

  3. I really disliked studying Shakespeare at school, probably due to poor teaching, and I've had no desire to read any of his other plays since then.
    I have however discovered his sonnets and like those immensely!

    Like

  4. I disliked school until I was forced to retake English GCSE and had the pleasure of Mr Nichols as my teacer (Captain Doodle may remember him). A fine Yorkshireman and ex police officer in the twilight of his working life. He lead us through Henry V and it was incredible. At A'Level I only got to read The Winter's Tale but again, it was a wonderful play. As a teacher I taught my Year 5s Romeo & Juliette and their reaction was similar to many adults, as the language was just inaccessible. By the end, and some inventive teaching, it had come alive and they absolutely adored it.

    I think a decent teacher may be a factor…

    Like

  5. Hamlet and Macbeth. Absolutely loved both. But I had a brilliant teacher. We listened to the plays on big LPs which were brought forth from a cupboard with great reverence.

    Like

  6. I hated both Shakespeare and English at school. I hold the teacher entirely responsible, as he was also an alchoholic. I suggested he 'may prefer' to arrive first thing in the morning not stinking of booze. He dragged me to the Headmaster who did nowt to me and sacked him shortly afterwards! Sadly by that time my interest had gone…

    Like

  7. Don't think I can vote unless I vote twice because I a) loved Julius Caesar with the splendid Mr Hines & b) was bored to tears by both Macbeth and Romeo & Juliet thanks to my GCSE year teacher (who had best remain nameless)

    Like

Leave a Reply

