My Childhood Home / Jubilee

Yep, we had a twofer a bit since. Here’s a blog to cover them both. Let’s start with a bit of nostalgia for your childhood homes, eh?

@alexbrightsmith final pic @alexbrightsmith Turns out I grew up in the house all kids draw - and never even noticed @alexbrightsmith up first with a most delightful reminiscence of her childhood home. This brought a smile to grumpy old Wombat’s grizzled features.

 

@ariadnes_web Forgot to tag it! Here's my childhood home, and a random picture of me aged 15Look at the size of the gob on that! The fish I mean, not @ariadnes_web cos I wouldn’t want to risk her wrath. She could so beat me up. The pic at the bottom is her childhood home, and very nice it looks too. There does appear to be an orange car on the drive, which I’m not so sure about. Orange? really?

@bathcat childhood back garden. Big Sis, me and Rocky

 

Here’s @bathcat on horseback now in her childhood back garden. Her, Big Sis, and Rocky the Pygmy Pony over by the dental floss bush (yes, it’s a Zappa reference).

@belfegore My parents actually built their own home, down to laying the bricks. Here is me helping out

 

 

 

Here’s an impressive fact from @belfegore – “My parents actually built their own home, down to laying the bricks. Here is me helping out”. impressive, see? The shorts, not so much.

@captain_doodle I. Am. Knight rider. Fighting crime on my Knightcycle outside the childhood home

 

“I. Am. Knight Rider!” intones a deep impressive voice, or at least @captain_doodle attempting one. “Fighting crime on my Knightcycle outside the childhood home”. He and Ant seem to be followed by a ghost. OOoooOOOoooo!

@davidtims My childhood home had two dogs and a shed called Holly Lodge.

 

 

Lurk lurk. Here’s @davidtims. “My childhood home had two dogs and a shed called Holly Lodge”. Wait, you had a dog called Holly Lodge, another dog called Holly Lodge, and a shed called Holly Lodge? Wow, talk about unimaginative.

@ericafairs This is the pic for #Sundaypics that won't upload to Twitter for @wombat37

 

 

@ericafairs says “This is the pic for #Sundaypics that won’t upload to Twitter for @wombat37”. If you’re attempting a song there, it needs a little work. Nice blurry thatched roof, though.

@exnavygirl Here is my home town of Húsavík in Iceland

 

 

 

“Here is my home town of Húsavík in Iceland”. Actually, @exnavygirl, I think you’ll find that’s a map. Also, I thought you lived in Dawnstar and wore Forsworn armour all day?

@flylilypad This is my first actual home, in Nakuru Kenya

 

Continuing the theme of exotic & attractive first homes (at least to a common-as-muck South Yorkshire lad like me) is @flylilypad “This is my first actual home, in Nakuru Kenya”. Nice.

@hippo_critic The place where I was born. With the motorbike & sidecar and pram (me) outside.

 

 

I love this pic from @hippo_critic; very evocative. “The place where I was born. With the motorbike & sidecar and pram (me) outside”. Ah those were the days, when you could leave your child ignored outside.

 

@ivan_jelical here it is, (from Google Maps (including Mum

 

Here’s @ivan_jellical’s bijou home, complete with his Mum doing some sort of weird callisthenic thing in the driveway. Or maybe she dropped a crisp.

@jaxbourne Me In an indecently short dress and my uncle @JulesBromley in our livingroom #Sundaypics …back in the day

 

 

And here’s that @jaxbourne “In an indecently short dress, and my uncle @JulesBromley in our living room back in the day”. We used to have a lamp like that. My dad made it.

@little_mavis In a reversal of It used to be all fields round here This is where grandma's flat was where I stayed much of the time

 

 

 

In a reversal of “It used to be all fields round here” this is where @little_mavis’s grandma’s flat was where she stayed much of the time when properly little.

 

@mizzlizwhizz Contrasting view towards the garden, childhood home

@mizzlizwhizz The view from my bedroom window, painted when I was 17

Two from talented  @mizzlizwhizz now – the first “the view from my bedroom window, painted when I was 17” (wow), coupled with a contrasting view towards ‘the garden’.

 

@mrsashboroscat This was my Nannas house. I spent most of my childhood here. That’s my Mum. She grew up here Indeed. It seems silly, but it’s the noise the breakfast room door handle made tha

 

Here’s one from @mrsashboroscat, who I miss on Twitter, and hope is doing better now than she was. “This was my Nanna’s house. I spent most of my childhood here. That’s my Mum. She grew up here”. Suburban lives, eh?

 

@och23 me and my sister in the tree outside my childhood home. Dad eventually built a treehouse for us

 

 

“Me and my sister” says @och23 “in the tree outside my childhood home. Dad eventually built a treehouse for us”. Wow – considerate dad.

 

@oldmotherriley I grew up on a farm. Here's my dad, two friends and a car outside, before I was born

 

This is a grand pic – look at the lovely coats! @oldmotherriley says “I grew up on a farm. Here’s my dad, two friends and a car outside, before I was born” – note absence of rounded corners on this pic cos it featured a white margin which has been rounded against a white background. These things matter to me, sorry. I’ll shut up.

@rg1840 Xmas view from the house I've lived in until moving to Dublin 2 yrs ago...it's still my home

 

 

Bloody Nora, this is a hell of a view. This from @rg1840 – “Xmas view from the house I’ve lived in until moving to Dublin 2 yrs ago…it’s still my home”. I know exactly what you mean. Looks a bit cold that, I might have a warming whisky….

 

@scullyscully A drawing of my childhood And to add to your second theme, our silver jubilee party was held in the concrete area

 

 

Do click the pic of this one for a bigger view – @scullyscully’s world, 1976. “A drawing of my childhood. And to add to your second theme, our silver jubilee party was held in the concrete area” That ‘nice’ Mr. Thwaites sounds a bit funny to me. Who lets other people’s kids play in their car?

@shysarah2009 View of my childhood home from my current home, traditional farm house

 

Here’s a drunk tree from @shysarah2009. She says it’s a “View of my childhood home from my current home, traditional farm house”, but I like to think that an ent just got pissed as a fart.

 

@thorn_w My childhood home

 

 

Mr @thorn_w’s childhood home is, unsurprisingly, artistic in its presentation. Those blurry cars were buggers to drive though.

 

 

@wombat37 My early years were spent in the first house of the terrace on the left

 

 

And here’s mine – my early years were spent in the first house of the terrace on the left. Cellar, outside toilet, tin bath on the wall, Goons on the radio, jumpers for goalposts.

 

JUBILEE – the supplementary theme, selected late due to it’s topicality

j @yura_toole An early one Bums and Bunting taken Friday at WNBR in Manchester Canal St

 

We love a bit of nudity in this blog, so we do – here’s @yura_toole: “An early one, Bums and Bunting taken Friday at WNBR in Manchester Canal St”. I love Canal Street.

j @sarahpez Jubilee tea with @Superblouse

 

 

 

 

A meeting of giant minds now, as @sarahpez has Jubilee tea with @Superblouse. God, I’ll bet the bon-mots flowed like erudite porridge.

 

j @little_mavis A windy & rainy Jubilee view

 

See that, vaguely, through the wind and pouring rain? That’s bunting, that is. @little_mavis calls this shot “A windy & rainy Jubilee view”. She’s not kidding.

 

j @jofilm Queue for Battersea Park Featival

 

 

 

BIG queue. Bigger than I’d ever stand in for anything. According to @jofilm, this is for the Battersea Park Featival (sic), whatever that might be.

j @kjormerod Does this count for your Jubilee #sundaypics  I did it myself for work tonight

 

Here’s @kjormerod saying “Does this count for your Jubilee theme? I did it myself for work tonight”. Of course it does – I can’t quite see clearly, but I’m assuming you have it flown the correct way up as if your nose was the flagstaff? That’s OK then.

 

j @hinnyhlw My jubilee cakes for

 

 

 

Oh look I want buns now – @hinnyhlw posted “My jubilee cakes”. That’s what I’m talking about…

 

j @hallmork This man in the Albert Inn bunted himself.

 

And now, all the way from @hallmork, a man who bunted himself. She calls this picture “The man who bunted himself in the Albert Inn”. It was taken in the Albert Inn.

 

j @dbrereton Pub and Flags #jubilee #bowness

 

 

 

MOAR PUB! I like pubs. This one from @dbrereton of a pub in Bowness. j @dbrereton My favourite 2 barges of the afternoonOn the left now is another @dbrereton masterpiece, this one playing on the sight of hundreds of barges in the Thames. He describes it as My favourite 2 barges of the afternoon”, a joke which I didn’t get for ages and ages.

 

j @shoegalsedgewick Today's killer shoes

 

 

 

And finally, Esther, a killer pair of jubilee shoes from (who else?) @shoegalsedgewick. Hell, even I’d wear those despite my dodgy toes.

About wombat37

A Yorkshireman in the green hills of Lancashire, UK Not a real wombat, obviously, or typing would become an issue. I do have short legs and a hairy nose, however. Oh, & a distinctive smell.

Posted on July 15, 2012, in Jubilee, My Childhood Home. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. That orange car (which WAS!) was an Austin 1300, and my Mum's car.@ariadnes_web

    Like

Leave a Reply

