No Shenanigans

quitezone_blueMany writers will tell you that the hardest thing to write is a convincing sex scene. It isn’t easy to convey eroticism and arousal without straying into the risible. Take these examples, for instance:

“she took him by the wrist and moved the base of his hand into her pubic hair until his middle fingertip settled on the no-man’s-land between her ‘front parlor’ and ‘back door’” – David Guterson’s “Ed King”

“It’s okay, I whispered … I was immersed in the slush of her moist meat … Her body stiffened but I forced her legs apart and pushed my face into her groin” – Christos Tsiolkas “Dead Europe”

However, although I do have a sex scene yet to write for “Amnesia” (coming soonish to a Lulu shop near you), that’s not the passage* that I’m most nervous of attempting. Oh no, what fills me full of dread is that I need to write about my protagonist doing a lot of heavy research in a library. How the frilly wiggins do I make that interesting, and not send the reader to sleep? “I took down another book. To my horror, this time the cover was red. The red of a freshly-slit throat…”. Hmmm, maybe not.

Wait – maybe if he does his research while having sex in the library? As long it’s quiet sex that should be OK, shouldn’t it?

* unintentional punnage, sorry.

About wombat37

A Yorkshireman in the green hills of Lancashire, UK Not a real wombat, obviously, or typing would become an issue. I do have short legs and a hairy nose, however. Oh, & a distinctive smell.

Posted on November 7, 2012, in Amnesia, Books, Sex scenes scare me, Writings. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

