A snippet of what I wrote today

Here’s a little tease from the happy little tale that I’m writing at the moment. Fun, isn’t it?

Jen - 1322“My mother had never known or met the dead man, but because she was different to them they blamed her. Never mind that she healed broken folk. Never mind that she delivered babies safely. Never mind that she helped the loveless find happiness. She was other, so she must be to blame. You want to hear what they did to my mother, John? They beat her before me and dragged the both of us to the burial of the dead man. There they stripped her, and they pushed her face down on top of the body in the open grave. She struggled, and cried out to me. I tried to get to her, but I was held tight by the women. They held Mam down, her face pushed into that of the corpse, until a heavy stone was brought. It took two men to carry it. They lowered it onto her back so that she could not move. Then they filled in the grave, slowly, her terrified screams eventually being muffled as the grave was filled and the earth stopped her mouth and her life. I was six years old.”

About wombat37

A Yorkshireman in the green hills of Lancashire, UK Not a real wombat, obviously, or typing would become an issue. I do have short legs and a hairy nose, however. Oh, & a distinctive smell.

Posted on April 15, 2013, in 1322, A snippet of what I wrote today, fiction, story, Writings. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I love you to pieces…but this one I might not can read. I have nightmares about being buried alive…seriously. However, that snippet was very well written, and unfortunately so vivid I could feel my air being shut off as I read it.

    Like

  2. That's but one paragraph though. There will also be mystery, joy, foul murder, songs, sexy times, hilarity, peaceful countryside, magic, odd people, churches….

    Like

  3. Is this your Medieval story? Sounds right up my street!

    Like

  4. Yes, that's right. Fun and frolic (and murder and mystery) in the 14th century.

    Like

Leave a Reply

