Barley Pottage

DSCF9680To keep me in the medieval mind-set while writing 1322, today for lunch I made barley pottage. The basic ingredients for pottage are stock, oats, herbs and salt, but beyond that you can chuck anything in. I chucked in barley and vegetables, though I cheated a bit, adding a couple of vegetables that weren’t around in 14th Century England – a potato (which comes from a land not yet discovered back then) and carrots (which had yet to be developed from their inedible purple wild variety).

Tasted pretty good, although I wouldn’t want it every day, and I wish I’d had some dark rye bread to have with it.

About wombat37

A Yorkshireman in the green hills of Lancashire, UK Not a real wombat, obviously, or typing would become an issue. I do have short legs and a hairy nose, however. Oh, & a distinctive smell.

Posted on June 3, 2013, in 1322, History, Pottage, Recipe, Writings. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

