Walkies at Bleakholt

BleakholtA lack of time (or rather a lot of other stuff to do) precluded my posting about yesterday’s dogs, and since I’m skipping volunteering today (because it’s way too sunnyhot for me to spend three hours outside), I’ll tell you about them now. Oh, and since quite a few of you have been asking, I’ll also add a few photos that I took around Bleakholt highlighting the many other non-canine animals that these good folk look after.

Levi“Morning, Charlotte! Who have you got for me?”
“Ahhh, Wombie. You can take this new boy out. He’s a bit nervous.”

Charlotte was not wrong. Meet LEVI, who spent his first five minutes whining loudly and being scared by the other dogs barking (“My turn!”, “Me next!”, Oi, take me instead!”). I finally managed to persuade him to follow me out and along the lanes, though, and he eventually settled down to enjoying himself… just as his walk was over. Maybe next time.

ToddAaand here’s TODD. Toddy, todd-todd-todd. You remember Todd, I’m sure. He was a bit grumpy at first this morning, and did not want to go down the hill towards The Fisherman’s Rest, perhaps because he knew he’d have to walk back up it afterwards, and it was very hot by now. A little friendly persuasion worked, though. He also wanted to go in the field and run and run and rub, but the farmer has banned walkers from the field now. Grumpy twat – it’s not as if he’s doing anything with it; it’s just scrubby grass. Ahem. Another, longer-serving walker told me that Todd does not get on with everyone (probably why he’s not been snapped up), so I was lucky that he agreed to go with me. Yay me.

KeanoLast time I took KEANO out he pretty much ignored me and tried to pick up everything he found lying about. This time, though, we had much more interaction and I really got on with the little feller. We even had a sit down and a tummy rub (him not me). His legs seem just a bit short for his body length, so that when he runs he looks a bit like a weasel. You’ll have noticed that I take him out on a metal lead, as opposed to the usual blue lead the others have. This is because Keano likes to chew his lead from time to time and has been known to chew right through them. I guess this goes with his love of carrying stuff, too. He just loves to nom his teeth on things. Luckily, though, never people.

Until now I’ve concentrated on the dogs at Bleakholt, since that’s where I volunteer, but it’s a large site, and they have many other animals there too, most of which are available for adoption.

Cats aplentyCatsLet’s start with the cats. They have some gorgeous felines up in a complex away from the dogs. If I want to see whether any particular dog reacts to cats, I can take them up there to show them the mogs safe in their pens. We got our two, Midge and Buffy, from Bleakholt ten years ago and they’ve been and continue to be wonderful cats.

Smaller furries abound, in various undercover huts all with outdoor runs. There are some rather beautiful rabbits, a sprinkling of guinea pigs, and a whatever-the-collective-name-is-for-them of degu. Or should that be ‘degues’? What I am sure of is that it is not “Degu’s” *apostrophe shudder*
BunnyDegu
GP

Goats with a viewMadge. Or possibly Harold. I have no idea.Like your animals on the larger side? Then admire the goats who overlook the lovely Irwell/Rossendale Valley, and enjoy coming up to the fence for a good old neck scratch. Or move along a few yards to say “Whoa” at Madge and Hilda, two large and vociferous pigs, who seem to spend all their time grumbling. Or maybe they’re singing, I can’t tell. I do not speak pig.

Not sure - Baby perhapsI think this is Dee DeeWander over to the stables (if they are open) to move even further up the size scale. You’ll know whether the stables are open, for when they are not a big sign will announce “The Stables Is Closed”. Yes, I know. Grammar’s not a forté up at Bleakholt. Here you can see horses tiny and huge. Sorry I didn’t take a photo of one of the big horses but I got a bit overwhelmed. Oh, and there are the donkeys as well, but I couldn’t be arsed to wander outside to their paddock.

If you live near and get a chance, get up to Bleakholt for a quick visit. Even if you’re not looking to adopt, it’s a lovely place to visit, and no doubt you’ll donate 20p for parking, and maybe buy something from the shop. This place is a charity, after all, and every little helps.

About wombat37

A Yorkshireman in the green hills of Lancashire, UK Not a real wombat, obviously, or typing would become an issue. I do have short legs and a hairy nose, however. Oh, & a distinctive smell.

Posted on June 19, 2013, in Animals, bleakholt, Dog walking, Dogs, Keano, Levi, Todd, Walkies. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I really enjoy these animal posts, thank you for doing them 🙂

    Like

  2. Thank you, Myrna x

    Like

Leave a Reply

