Review–The Selkie Spell by Sophie Moss

51PGJfj4s-L._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-67,22_AA300_SH20_OU02_Sophie Moss is a writer you can trust. You can trust her storytelling, her characters, her pacing. Most of all you can trust her to entertain you without once resorting to either cliché or stereotype. Let her take you by the hand and lead you into her world, a place that is real and yet unreal, idyllic yet awry. Admire the beauty laid out before you, and try to ignore that dark flicker in the corner of your eye. Wrap yourself in the atmosphere of Seal Island, and shiver deliciously when Ms. Moss catches you off guard with things that should not happen, yet do. Things that somehow do not seem out of place in this magical landscape.

Believable three-dimensional characters populate Ms. Moss’s Ireland. The protagonist is flawed yet lovable, the bad guy’s actions completely understandable within his own context. How refreshing to meet people who do not simply perform to a genre-dictated script. On top of this, the touches of myth and magic are the perfect garnish for this feast for the imagination.

One reviewer has pointed out errors in the Irish way of speaking. Yes, this does happen in a few places, at least until a new edition addresses them, but such are very rare and in no way detract from the tale or pull you out of the story. I only noticed a few on my second read through.

Ms. Moss has a deft hand with language; I can honestly say that I have highlighted more enchanting passages in her work than any other writer on my Kindle, saving perhaps my beloved Pepys. I cheered, I cried, I was beguiled throughout. Do yourself a favour: take Sophie’s hand and enter her enthralling world.

About wombat37

A Yorkshireman in the green hills of Lancashire, UK Not a real wombat, obviously, or typing would become an issue. I do have short legs and a hairy nose, however. Oh, & a distinctive smell.

Posted on July 31, 2013, in Books, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I loved it! I didn't notice anything out of place – but then I'm not Irish.

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for this AMAZING review!! I'm so happy you liked it! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

