Visdare 48 – To Boldly Go

visdare-badgeThis is an entry for Angela Goff’s Visdare challenge, the idea being to write a story of 150 words or less prompted by a picture. I had a bit of fun with this one, hitting 149 words ignoring the title. Wasn’t meant to be funny when it started out, but isn’t that always the way? Click the pic on the right to check out Visdare and other stories posted for this collection.


To Boldly Go

Click to see picture sourceNo. Nuh-uh. Negatory. No way am I going to be first down there, ducky. I mean, what on earth is that bloody cracking sound, for a start? And is that… chewing? Wet chewing? Ick!

Well, you can pop that right up your pipe and smoke it. I’m security, I am. I don’t do exploration, ducky. Those science homies should have a vada first, see what’s what, and then we can mince in all phasers-on-stun once they know what’s down there.

No! I don’t care what Mr Pointy Ears says. Let him go down first if he’s so bloody keen on investigating his ‘strange anomaly’. Him and his weedly-wee machine.

I don’t get paid nearly enough to risk my lallies down there. Don’t get paid at all, actually, ducky. Wait, what’s that over me head? EEK! AAAAARGH!!! Ouch ouch ouch! Oh bumholes! I just had this red shirt cleaned, too…

About wombat37

A Yorkshireman in the green hills of Lancashire, UK Not a real wombat, obviously, or typing would become an issue. I do have short legs and a hairy nose, however. Oh, & a distinctive smell.

Posted on February 12, 2014, in fiction, Short story, story, Visdare, Writings. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. OMG, this was hilarious! Loved it!

    Like

  2. I love the blatant Star Trek theme. 🙂 Life and times of the redshirts!

    Like

  3. Love your protagonist’s voice. 🙂

    Like

  4. Hornagraphic Pictures Presents ..? Pitch perfect.

    Like

Leave a Reply

