Works in progress

Jen wordsI have once more started moving on the latest novel, The Raven’s Wing, aka 1322. Finally. I began writing it last year, but was tempted away (as you probably noticed) by the delicious allure of anthologies and short stories. Releasing ‘Blood on the Ground’ as a collection has acted as a way marker on that road, however, and I am now eager to step back 700 years and once again sink myself into the mire, mayhem and magic of the 14th century. I have 40k words already written, which at a rough guess is about a quarter of the number that I will need to fully tell the story in my head. I’ll wager that you’ve stopped reading this paragraph now, so it’s probably safe to mention that I’m writing in my jimjams, eating salty porridge with dried cherries. A little word painting of the author at work for you there.

I have also had a sudden revelation, after looking at ‘Warren Peace’, about how to improve the start of ‘Fog to make it more attractive to those who make quick decisions, such as agents and publishers. I shall therefore be doing a small rewrite of that over the next few weeks, prior to sending it out to a few more agents. And no, I won’t be changing that ending.

I have not forsaken the short form altogether, as I am working up a three thousand word tale for submission to a paying magazine. When I get around to submitting that, I shall ask you once again to cross everything of which you possess a pair.

About wombat37

A Yorkshireman in the green hills of Lancashire, UK Not a real wombat, obviously, or typing would become an issue. I do have short legs and a hairy nose, however. Oh, & a distinctive smell.

Posted on September 30, 2014, in 1322, Books, fiction, Magic, medieval, Novel, The Raven's Wing, Writings. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

