Remembrance of Rollie

DSCN0297This is Rollie Bucholtz, an American pilot who volunteered to fight for the Allies in 1941, six months before America entered the war. He was killed four weeks after arriving in England. I have in my possession his diary as well as many of his photographs and other documents. I plan to write about him next year.

Today, Armistice Day, I remember his bravery and willingness to fight oppression.

About wombat37

A Yorkshireman in the green hills of Lancashire, UK Not a real wombat, obviously, or typing would become an issue. I do have short legs and a hairy nose, however. Oh, & a distinctive smell.

Posted on November 11, 2014, in Flying, Memories, Rollie, War, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Have you been able to contact any of his families to share your findings?

    Like

  2. Rollie is my great uncle! I’ve been trying to learn more about him and his story. Is there any way I can get in touch with you for more info on your findings?

    Like

    • Really? Hi! When I visited friends in Chamberlain SD (I live in the UK), they showed me a box full of ephemera of Rollie and his family (my friend owned an antiques store and had come across the box that way), including letters and photographs and a brief diary. I took copies of it all, and plan to write Rollie’s story for my twelfth book, once I’ve finished my current work in progress.

      Feel free to email me at authorwombat at jood dot freeuk dot com, or find me on twitter and introduce yourself @wombat37

      Michael Wombat

      PS I’d forgotten this blog post 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

