On Twitter and friendship

hugesharkWe hear often that Twitter is full of awful people who like nothing better than to attack and insult. While those people undoubtedly exist, I’d like to take a moment to write about the others. defsmithThe wonderful people, the true friends that I have met since joining Twitter six years ago. If you’re reading this, it’s likely you’re one of them.

captain_doodleI won’t name individuals for fear of forgetting someone, but know this – in 2014 Twitter has led me through back streets I didn’t know existed in search of exciting new wheelie bin numbers. Twitter joined me at rosamundiYSP in happy throngs to picnic and play amongst the sculptures. Around a hundred of you threw yourselves enthusiastically into Twanta and sent Christmas gifts to strangers. Twitter responded to my woe at the fifi_bonfuckugly state of my feet, and desire to try painting my fingernails (inspired by @defsmith that one, I don’t mind naming her as my inspiration for that) by giving me a gift token for a posh manicure and pedicure.

ginlingtonMost importantly, Twitter has been an immense support through my black moods, and late night howls into the void. You have helped me immensely, talking me through all the shyte and offering immensely lizzywelshcakepractical help. You kept my head above water. You know who you are, and you get a special hug.

jo_parry_tweetsTo sum up – throughout the year, my lovelies, you have brought me joy, entertainment, thrills and laughter. You’re astonishing, and I’m honoured to know you. Every single one of you that I talk to on Twitter adds to something that is very special to me – my Twitter timeline.dinkymum

3TnaaHMu_biggerSo you, reading this now – thank you for being my friend.

About wombat37

A Yorkshireman in the green hills of Lancashire, UK Not a real wombat, obviously, or typing would become an issue. I do have short legs and a hairy nose, however. Oh, & a distinctive smell.

Posted on December 29, 2014, in Friends, Friendship, Twitter. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. How lovely. It’s nice to read of the good side of twitter. Sadly I’m pessimistic in outlook and have done better taking a break. I miss all my friends from twitters. I shall return, in triumph, one day … I think!

    Like

  2. I was talking about you on twitter with a few worthies over Christmas. We miss you, yes, but more important is your well being. Look to yourself first of all, my friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

