The true meaning of life is to plant trees under whose shade you do not expect to sit.

B53OnFMIUAAnp0S.jpg largeI once told a good friend that trees make a reasonable metaphor for people’s lives – each bifurcation, each branching off, representing a path taken or not taken at different points in our individual existences. I was thinking about that when I took this photograph, and wondering to which of the tiny snow-limned twiglets at the top of the tree my personal life decisions had taken me. Would different choices have taken me to a stronger, or higher branch? Most likely, but then again the twig where I am now does have a reasonable view and is at least high in the air, rather than being a stunted limb much further down.

Aside from all that, I like this photo simply because snow on trees is so very beautiful. I also like this picture because it has in it the stick that I made myself, from young offshoots of ash in Chesham Wood. I chose a slightly bent stick deliberately, as it was far more interesting than its perfectly straight brethren.

Trees. Love ‘em.

The title of this post is a quote from Nelson Henderson.

About wombat37

A Yorkshireman in the green hills of Lancashire, UK Not a real wombat, obviously, or typing would become an issue. I do have short legs and a hairy nose, however. Oh, & a distinctive smell.

Posted on February 1, 2015, in Life, Trees, Witter. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Vivian Lang Hargrave

    I also love trees. I love the naked ones…one of the beautiful aspects of winter is seeing those tall majestic trees without a leaf on them. I have made many a stop during a drive, to simply snap a picture of a tree that caught my eye. I love the snow covered ones but oh, when the ice forms on them…the sun shines bright, it is like a zillion diamonds covering them. Thank you for sharing your analogy too. I loved it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

