Collaborative Writing

Alex

Writing is a solitary occupation. Family, friends, and society are the natural enemies of the writer. He must be alone, uninterrupted, and slightly savage if he is to sustain and complete an undertaking.

– Jessamyn West

But it doesn’t have to be this way. Two of my favourite writers are contributing to an anthology for which I too am writing: Lisa Shambrook’s much-anticipated post-apocalyptic funfest. Alex and Paula were both open to my suggestion that our stories intertwine somehow, with events from one story affecting a second, or even third. We even have one event seen from two different viewpoints in two different stories.

PaulaIt’s a completely different process, this, and a process full of fun. Moulding your tale to fit around the needs of of another author’s characters and plot is a fascinating organic process, which involves much friendly communication, along with a certain amount of give and take. Moreover, I am using the strengths of these skilled writers to improve my own tale in areas where I know my writing is weak. In a word, it’s brilliant.

I reckon our little triptych will be a bit special. I’ll post the first part of my side of the triangle up here soon for your delectation.

About wombat37

A Yorkshireman in the green hills of Lancashire, UK Not a real wombat, obviously, or typing would become an issue. I do have short legs and a hairy nose, however. Oh, & a distinctive smell.

Posted on June 4, 2015, in Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I am so excited about reading the collaborative tales! Though there’s something to be said for solitary writing, writing with a group and a common thread is stimulating and fun!

    Like

  1. Pingback: Chasing the horizon | Cubic Scats

Leave a Reply

