#WOMBATSDOAMERICA 2015 DAY 5

Blogging our recent US trip day by day, a month after the event.

14th November – Bear Lake, Michigan

Up The Shakers!Ace came over to visit us early, in search of a biscuit. Erm, Ace is the dog, remember, not some passing randomer. We listened – or rather followed on Twitter – as Bury lost to Gillingham on the other side of the planet. We baked particularly British things for our hosts – quite tasty cheese scones and a batch of went-slightly-wrong sausage rolls. Can you believe that America doesn’t have sausage rolls? Or beans on toast? IKR!

BaconWe hewed slices of bacon from the slab that our very good friend Karen had sent, and by Grabthar’s Hammer it was good.

Now, I’m not a fan of guns, but we were in the middle if hunting country, so when Barb’s nephews offered to show us some target-shooting it seemed sensible to accept. Also the whole “don’t criticise something you’ve not tried yada yada yada” thing. I almost went out in my pinny which, you know, hardly cool.

CrossbowMary was a bit good with the rifle, taking the best shot of the afternoon. I was surprised how much I enjoyed it – the shoulder kick, the smell of cordite, the stupid earphones. I performed better with the handgun, though it was difficult to stop my leg shaking, No, I have no idea why my leg was shaking. Mary got to shoot a crossbow, too – again doing well. You know what? Shooting is fun, although I would never be able to fire at anything but an inanimate target.

SunsetAt sunset, Barb and I took Ace for a walk on the lakeshore. The sky across the water burned. I took exactly a gazillion photos.

THERE ARE MORE PHOTOGRAPHS OF DAY 5 HERE

About wombat37

A Yorkshireman in the green hills of Lancashire, UK Not a real wombat, obviously, or typing would become an issue. I do have short legs and a hairy nose, however. Oh, & a distinctive smell.

Posted on December 15, 2015, in #WOMBATSDOAMERICA, America, Dogs, Michigan, USA. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. That sunset is incredible! And good news that Mary can protect you! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

